How I Came to be Against Captivity

How I Came to be Against Captivity

Currently, I am against captivity. I have campaigned against it here in San Diego. I have been for approximately 1 ½ years now. I wasn’t always, though. It took me over 11 ½ years to realize that captivity was wrong. This is the story of how I realized captivity was wrong.

Ever since I could remember, I have been obsessed with other animals, especially three. First lions, second horses, and since 3rd grade, dolphins. I’ve seen Keiko, the star of the first 3 “Free Willy” movies when I was 2, but I never became obsessed with dolphins until we moved to San Diego in the summer of 2005. Today’s date, when we moved to San Diego about 5 ½ years ago, we went to SeaWorld for the first time. That sparked my love for marine life, and caused me to be what I am today.

For the next 4 years of my life, I was begging my parents to take us to SeaWorld. I even went to a SeaWorld camp 2 ½ years ago. A year later, over the summer, I began to get involved in environmental sites, and fatefully joined Sea Shepherd Support. I read things there that said captivity was wrong. I made the paradigm that captivity was not wrong, and remained ignorant. I continued to support captivity up until the summer of 2009.

The last time I went to SeaWorld was for a field trip at the end of 6th grade. At the end of the field trip, we went by the dolphins not used in the shows, that were placed in a small tank. Everybody else was talking about how they were smiling and how cute they were, then I thought about what I read. As I was thinking, I had a realization that only a select few who wrote these articles, like I am now, had mentioned that dolphins are not always happy.

I pondered that thought and looked at the dolphins real hard. I began to see things I hadn’t seen before. I saw the dolphins swimming in circles dispassionately. You know how sometimes in school you would do homework without a drive? That’s how the dolphins were swimming. I also realized that the tanks were extremely small. I still didn’t change my opinion until I found out that captivity supports dolphin slaughter a month or two later.

After I had changed my opinion, I completely shifted sides. A few days later, I was writing about why captivity was wrong, and boycotted SeaWorld. About a year ago, I joined a protest here in San Diego against SeaWorld, and I began making videos about captivity. My latest acts against captivity have been making emails and phone calls and speaking to my classes about captivity. As I said before, one of the big factors of stopping captivity is stopping their profit. The best way to do that is to get people to realize that captivity is wrong.

I will continue to fight against ALL animal abusement for the rest of my life or until it resides completely. Thanks for reading, and please check out my videos on Facebook or YouTube, and check out ZachAFF Studios Website and to read the rest of my blog.

Leave a Reply

